Ged a Widget

Jumat, 27 September 2013

The Dutch Education System


Hallo, selamat berjumpa kembali sahabat. Pada kesempatan kali ini saya ingin berbagi tentang Sistem Pendidikan di Belanda. Pada kesempatan ini izinkan saya memakai bahasa Inggris ya ? :)

The Dutch education system features many different types of school, each offering a curriculum geared to pupils' needs. Secondary education paves the way for vocational or higher education. The higher education system aims to provide top-quality teaching and training at professional or academic level. Special education is provided to pupils with learning and behavioural difficulties. 

1. Primary education

Primary education in the Netherlands encompasses mainstream primary schools, special schools for primary education for children with learning and behavioural difficulties and children with learning disabilities and special primary and secondary education. Primary education is intended for all children aged four to approximately twelve years.

2. Secondary education
There are around 700 secondary schools in the Netherlands, both publicly and privately run. There are four types of secondary education, ranging from pre-university education to practical training. Young people must attend school until the age of 18 or until they have obtained a basic qualification. Schools are putting extra effort into improving children's language and numeracy skills.

Types of secondary education
There are four types of secondary education in the Netherlands:

  • pre-university education (VWO);
  • senior general secondary education (HAVO);
  • pre-vocational secondary education (VMBO);
  • practical training (PRO).

All four types of secondary school cater for children from the age of 12 and begin with a period of basic secondary education (basisvorming).

There are also special schools for secondary education for children with special needs.

3. VWO and HAVO
Pre-university education, or VWO, takes six years and prepares pupils for university. Senior general secondary education, or HAVO, takes five years and prepares pupils for higher professional education (HBO). In the first three years of HAVO and VWO (the lower years) the emphasis is on general knowledge and skills. Specialisation takes place in the upper years (the last three years of VWO, or the last two years of HAVO).

4. Pre-vocational education (VMBO)
There are two levels of vocational education: pre-vocational (VMBO) and secondary vocational (MBO).  VMBO prepares children for secondary vocational education.

The total VMBO programme takes four years. Pupils follow a general curriculum in the first two years, after which they choose a learning pathway and a sector. There are four sectors:
  • care and welfare;
  • engineering and technology;
  • business;
  • agriculture.
5. After VMBO
Many pupils who complete VMBO go on to secondary vocational education (MBO). This greatly increases their chances on the job market. The VMBO leaving certificate does not qualify as a basic qualification. Pupils who are not yet 18 on finishing VMBO are required by law to continue their education until they reach the age of 18 or attain a basic qualification (at least an MBO level 2 certificate).

6. Higher education
Higher education comprises higher professional education (HBO) and university education (WO). These types of education are provided by HBO institutions (hogescholen) and universities respectively.
Bachelor's and master's degrees
All HBO and university courses fall under the bachelor-master system. Bachelor's degree programmes are broader, while master's degree programmes lead to specialisation in a chosen field. HBO bachelor's degree programmes take four years, university bachelor's programmes three. A master's degree programme takes up to two years, while master's programmes in engineering can last longer.

So, how about your decision to study abroad ? :-)

Reference :

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar